Being Engaged Sucks

It’s been a couple months since I’ve written, and many a thing has changed in that time! I am very happily engaged to one of my long time childhood friends, looking ahead to my senior year of college and bracing for the beginning of my career as a [hopefully] successful event planner.

Now that I’ve been utterly positive for almost a whole paragraph, it’s time for me to rant for the remainder of this post.

Taylor and I became engaged on November 8th, (shoutout to Jessica Reeder for loaning us her birthday) but we’ve been planning the wedding since mid-August. So now we’re 6 months down, 3 months to go. Let me tell you why this sucks.

Being engaged means making plans. LOTS of plans. From small details like rugs and Kitchen Aid colors, to really important things like a place to live and when we are going to have children. So we signed a lease on an apartment, but now we can’t live there for another 3 months. And we registered for hundreds of gifts to go in that apartment but we aren’t going to be able to use them for 3 months. Also we’ve planned this amazing honeymoon to a cabin in Maine, but guess what? It’s not happening for another 3 months.

Being engaged also means you have made the emotional commitment to spend the rest of forever with that one person. Forever. Every day. Together. But not yet! No no. Not for another 3 months! So basically every time you see each other, the clock is always ticking, ticking, ticking…until you have to say goodbye, sometimes for a week at a time. (sorry for those of you in SUPER long distance relationships, that sucks on a whole other level)

So anyways, I’m in love. Head over heels, annoying to the people around me, in LOVE. And in 3 months I’ll be sure to write a post about how amazing married life is. However at this stage, I’m really starting to believe that distance does indeed make the heart grow fonder, cause I’m ready to get hitched people.

