My Minimalism

If you read my latest post, you are aware that Taylor and I are moving into a tiny home in just a couple months! If not, you should read it, here.

Since we are moving into a space that is about 15% the size of our current apartment, we’ve been purging. And purging. AND PURGING. And as promised, I am writing a post on my version of minimalism. Enjoy!

 

Taylor and I first started taking a hard look at our belongings around Thanksgiving this past year. I stumbled upon the concept of minimalism while browsing Pinterest one day, and was immediately hooked. Minimalism takes on a different form for everyone.  Today, I want to share what it looks like for us.

My minimalism is not restrictive.

We still have stuff. Not nearly as much as we did, and not even close to what most people own, but we have what matters to us. Taylor didn’t get rid of his skateboard or pocket knife collection. I kept scrapbooks, craft supplies and this candle holder I just adore from Hobby Lobby.

As we went through each and every item we owned, we asked ourselves two questions:

  • Do we use it?
  • Does it bring us joy?

If we answered ‘no’ to both questions, the item went away (donate, sell, give away, trash, etc.)

My point is, our lifestyle requires some stuff. We enjoy having company, so we have a few extra place settings and serving items. We have a dog and two cats, so we have bowls, food, leashes and toys.

It’s the other stuff that we got rid of. Why do we have 10 blankets? Do we each need four pairs of boots? Will we ever use both margarita shakers at the same time? Probably not. We own what we need and that’s it.

My minimalism doesn’t mean I’m always frugal.

I read an article the other day titled “The Difference Between Minimalism & Frugality” and it spoke to me. The article states, “The true definition of frugality is to lack wastefulness and focus on savings. But it seems that those looking to simply spend the least amount end up purchasing more in bulk to drive down the price. The end result is a lot of excess, low quality goods and sometimes going over budget without realizing it.”

That 30-pack of store brand paper towel might cost less per roll, but how is the quality? Do I have it in my budget this month to buy 30 rolls of paper towel? Will each roll last as long as the slightly more expensive brand? Is the time I spent clipping coupons better spent with family?

My minimalism means I live in the moment.

Open a closet in your home and discard 15 items. I’ll bet one of these phrases goes through your mind at least once, “I have that just in case…” “I’m going to use that someday for…”

90% of the time, those items will never get used. My mom has a huge dresser with four drawers full of fabric scraps. To her credit, she has minimalized quite a bit with my help, but that dresser of fabric she is saving for lord knows what is still there.

If you aren’t using it and you don’t love it, what is it doing in your life?

My minimalism has saved me money.

I buy triple ply toilet paper. I have pricey essential oil infused shampoo. My favorite brand of tequila is found on the top shelf. So how on earth am I saving so much money? I’ll tell you how. I don’t walk through the clearance sections every time I go to the store. I don’t online shop unless I have an actual need for something. And, this is a big one: I don’t go to Hobby Lobby (or Target!) unless I have a strict list and know I can stick to it.

And you know what? It’s easy! After donating, giving away and selling SO MUCH of our stuff, I don’t have a desire to buy more. When I am tempted to purchase something not on my list, I picture myself in a year, or 5 years putting that item in the ‘donate’ pile and the urge to purchase it is gone.

I can afford higher quality goods that I need when I don’t throw money at junk that I don’t need. Imagine that!

My minimalism has made me healthier.

Minimalism is a mindset that will penetrate every part of your life if you allow it to. I’ve been on a path to become healthier for about a year now, but just within the last 3-4 months have I really started to believe in the “less ingredients = better for your body” mantra. I find myself filling my shopping cart with more fresh produce & meat, and rarely venturing into the center aisles. I’m not on a diet plan, and I don’t want to be. I’m just eating simpler foods, and they happen to be great for my body.

I could go on. I have about 5 more “my minimalism…” statements. Minimalism has changed my life. I am so excited to see how it takes root in our lives after making the move to our tiny house.

 

One thought on “My Minimalism

  1. Pingback: Less

Comments are closed.