Life’s a Journey

I’ve lost 20 pounds in the last 7 weeks.

Wow. Writing that sentence makes me feel a lot of feelings.

The reality is, I’m not actively trying to lose weight (I know, I know, you avid dieters do not want to hear that). I’ve been wanting to shed more than a few pounds and look better in a bathing suit, but those desires weren’t what led to this drastic change.

I have felt like shit for years. I’ve had menstrual cycles so painful I required narcotics. During college, I’m pretty sure my digestive system was trying to kill me (or at least significantly lower the amount of friends I had). I honestly cannot remember the last time I had enough energy to do all the things I WANTED to do.

Without going into details that are bound to bore you, here’s the short version of how I got to feeling absolutely unstoppable.

A little over a year ago, I started seeing a naturalist. She has been using holistic medicine and natural supplements to bring balance back to my body. If you’re not into that stuff, don’t knock it. I was freaked out the first time I saw her and now I’m a total believer.

But I’m not trying to convert you to natural medicine. I’m not even trying to spill my ‘secret’ to lose 20 pounds in under 2 months.

I just want you to do something! If you feel like shit and you’re okay with that, more power to you. But if you feel like shit and you hate feeling like shit, DO SOMETHING. Change the way you eat, change the person that instructs you on the medications to put in your body, change anything.

It is truly unbelievable to me how many people eat like crap all day long and wonder why they feel like crap. You are what you eat! Fuel your body with whole, nutritious foods and it will thank you.

It’s been a crazy ride so far, and I still have a ways to go, but I am so glad I started searching for answers when I did.

 

P.S. I didn’t want to drone on about the specifics of my natural health journey in the post, but if you are interested in hearing more I would be thrilled to share!! Reach out to me via Facebook or a comment.

